The Not Your Average Corn on the Cob Recipe

I used to think my mom and sister were crazy when they put mayo and parmesan cheese on their corn. That was back in my low fat days when I thought mayo was the devil and was going to make me fat. Mind you conventional and organic mayonnaise will make you fat because it’s loaded with nasty vegetable oils but when you home make your own mayo… well, that’s where it’s at my friends! I’m not quite sure how she came up with it (maybe a trip to Mexico?) but they always gobbled it down. Even my aunt mentioned something about how good the mayo corn tasted the other day.

I got to thinking. Why not try this with homemade mayo??  What the heck right? There’s nothing to lose and I may just get a blog post out of it. 🙂

what a trooper

It was pretty comical trying to take a photo of this single piece of corn while my husband was home because all he wanted to do was eat it. I kept trying to figure out the best angle and lighting which took a while and all he did was complain! Men. Ha! He made a comment that went something along the lines of “Yeah, so this is what we do, we take photos of our food…” as if he were talking to an invisible person standing next to him. My poor, poor husband!

I was able to coax him into being a model so I could attempt a photo of him taking a bite but it did not turn out as dreamy looking as I hoped. 😉 It was fun while it lasted and I appreciate his involvement even if it was reluctant at first. What can he expect? He’s the husband of an aspiring food blogger… hello!

The end was result was really delicious! Scott complained that I only made one piece of corn so that was a good sign. As for me? Do I still think my mom and sister are crazy for eating corn slathered with parmesan cheese and mayo? Nope, not at all!

I’m looking forward to making it again…and hopefully the next time I make it, it will be for my mom!

Not Your Average Corn on the Cob Recipe

Ingredients:

  • corn on the cob, husked and split in half (make sure it’s non-GMO!)
  • homemade mayonnaise (recipe here)
  • raw parmigiano reggiano
  • unrefined sea salt, optional (find it here)
  • black pepper, optional (find it here)

Directions:

  1. Boil your corn (I boil mine for 10 minutes)
  2. Once the corn is done, let cool on a plate
  3. Once cooled, take a fork and smear mayo all over
  4. Next, sprinkle parmigiano reggiano
  5. If you want, add salt and pepper although the taste of the mayo and saltiness from the parmigiano cheese are enough for my taste!

And just like that, you’ve transformed your plain corn on the cob to something much tastier!

Have you ever had corn on the cob this way?

Leave a Reply

