The Simple Things

I think it’s important to take a moment each day and reflect on what you are grateful for because it is easy to get drowned in the stresses of daily life. Time flies and before you know it’s the middle of the year… and then the end. Maybe you haven’t allowed yourself to take a few moments of your busy schedule to sit in the “now” and appreciate the simple things you have been blessed with. Every day I try to remind myself that my son will only be little for a short amount of time and if I don’t embrace the moment (the good and bad) I will look back and wish I had done so.

The best things in life are free. In this present time of materialistic wants and always being connected to technology, we really have to make a point and search back to our roots to appreciate those free things – like love, friendship, family, a new harvest in the garden, etc – that often go unnoticed. When we ground ourselves with things that truly matter our souls will no doubt be enlightened and filled with gratitude. This sense of gratitude may radiate out of you and inspire people to do the same. Can you image a world filled with people who really take the time to acknowledge what they are grateful for?


I’m trying something new and starting a series of posting photos of simple things that I am grateful for every Thursday. My hope is that you will also be inspired to take a few moments and soak in your moment – whether it be good or bad.

We’ll call it: The Simple Things

pretty sunflowers at the farmer’s market
stopping to smell the flowers
a blue jay planted this peanut in my plant!
calendula flower going to seed
first signs of mini yellow bell peppers!
we must have went down the slide at least 20 times in a row
static hair
nothing beats free boxes for our moving adventure
helping mama put green beans in the bag

What simple things are you grateful for this week?

2 thoughts on “The Simple Things

  1. I love this series. I keep a gratitude journal daily and list just these types of things. I love this quote from the book “Simple Abundance”: “We think it’s the big moments that define our lives – the promotion, the new baby, the renovated kitchen, the wedding. But the narrative of our lives is written in the small, the simple, the common. The overlooked. The discarded. The reclaimed.”

Leave a comment