What is a Second Generation GMO?

I apologize for not writing these past couple weeks. I’m not going to lie, besides my family being in town for about 10 days this past week, I have been completely uninspired. I am very passionate about things and don’t like doing half ass jobs; especially when it comes to writing this blog. I prefer to give my full heart and soul into whatever I write about. If I don’t have the inspiration to do that, I’d rather just not write.

On a better note, I’m starting to feel my rhythm again and thought I would share my recent experience at the farmer’s market two days ago while I was handing out flyers on Proposition 37.

The issue that led up to the argument

You may have already seen an ad on TV or heard an ad on a radio network about the opposition’s claims regarding the labeling of GMO’s. One of their biggest arguments is how the proposition exempts certain food items such as food sold at restaurants and meat that comes from animals fed a GM diet. They are calling it “confusing” and “misleading.”

Exemptions on Prop. 37 & the arguements
While I was at the market the other day I had two different people come up to me on two different occasions asking about the exemptions. Both of them flat out told me they do not want to vote yes until all foods were labeled. I responded the best I could and told them it was about creating a starting point. Sometimes it is better to get our foot in the door and then later on we could make changes or add other items. He came back at me saying he’d like to know if the chicken he ate consumed GM feed because it would therefore contain GM ingredients. He continued to say “If you’re going to do it, you might as well start on the right foot and have everything labeled. It makes you wonder about the people who actually wrote the proposition, what was in their best interest.”

I can applaud this man for thinking outside of the box, really, because most people can’t think for themselves anymore (which is probably why we’re in this mess in the first place). I do however feel as if he was not looking at the bigger picture. It’s about getting most of our food supply labeled so when someone picks up a box of Honey Nut Cheerios and on the front it reads “May Contain GMO Ingredients” they can ask themselves, “Huh, what is a GMO?” And from that point, most people will research it and figure it out for themselves if they want to feed their families GM food.

And if you don’t want to eat a chicken that has been fed GM food, buy organic. Simple as that. Current regulations do not allow of any GMO’s in organic food but I urge you to check your sources and if you can, buy from a local farmer.

It’s about the choice here.

At the end of the conversation all I could say to him was that I felt it was a good starting point and it gave the consumer the opportunity to have the choice to purchase the food or not.

Strangely enough, I even had an older woman walk by me and tell me she “didn’t care about the topic” and felt it “doesn’t make a difference or matter” bbuuuttttt she was at a farmer’s market that promotes clean food? I’m shaking my head as I write this… I really don’t understand some people.

2nd Generation GMO
I went home and did a little research and found a better argument if I ever deal with the whole “exemption” issue again- which I’m sure I will especially the closer we get to election day.

What I found was when an animal eats a diet of GM feed it would be considered a “2nd generation GMO.” Chickens that are themselves genetically modified are different that chickens that are fed a GM diet. Although I’m sure you and I could both agree that “you are what you eat” it gets tricky when you are trying to draft a law to be passed. A law that let me remind you, is one that many huge corporations do NOT want to be passed (and would do anything and everything to make sure it didn’t).

If you look at the California Constitution in Article 2, section 8 (d) it states: An initiative measure embracing more than one subject may not be submitted to the electors or have any effect.

Clearly, if the writers of Proposition 37 added the animals who were fed GM food, the law would include two issues (Genetically engineered food and 2nd generation GMO) therefore being considered ineffective if not completely dismissed. It could even be held in the court of law by the Bio-tech bullies. We all know Monsanto has billions of dollars and could easily buy out the hearing.

As with the restaurant exemption, it would be too costly for the owners to change everything. You can pretty much count on if you are eating at a restaurant you are eating food that has been unethically and not sustainably raised (unless stated).

This whole issue is a much more complex issue then most can wrap their heads around. That is why it is important to move things forward in the right direction even if it means taking baby steps.

It is even more important to remember it shouldn’t be about the science, money, politics or greed. It should be and IS about our right to know what is in our food. Period.

Please help to spread the word by sharing this post on your Facebook, emailing it to a friend or just by spreading the word yourself. The only way we will win this is if people like you tell everyone they know. 

Vote YES on 37!

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul 

This post is part of: Fight Back Friday, Small Footprint Friday 

2 thoughts on “What is a Second Generation GMO?

  1. I am voting for prop 37, and I am actively campaigning for it with my friends and at my business. However, I did have a thought that has been bothering me. You know how food safety laws sometimes become overly burdensome to small producers while large corporations can afford to test and certify their products. I worry that one of the unintended consequences of prop 37 is that it could hurt small family farms. I hope GMO labeling laws do not have a certification process that costs $$$$. We have already seen how this effects small farmers not being able to afford organic certification. I hope I'm worrying for nothing but I wanted to put it out there. Does anyone know if GMO labeling law Prop 37 forces small producers to pay fees to certify that they are not using/growing GMO?

  2. Greetings from Canada, Loriel. Great article – I share the same concerns. My husband understands that the onus will be on the GM producers to label their food as such. Random tests may be done on “GMO-free” foods, but it won't have to be labelled as such. Who knows what the government (ie. Monsanto) will come up with after Prop 37 is successfully passed.

    Thanks, Anonymous, for a very good comment. Looking forward to others' responses to this!

Leave a Reply

