My personal movie review: The Lorax

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a movie last night once we put our little monster down for bed. We ended up picking The Lorax. I remember seeing it on TV before but I never really knew the real principal for the story.

First off, I want to give kudos to the graphic artists in this movie! It was very beautifully done with such vivid images.

It was entertaining for us and I could see it would be entertaining to the younger crowd as well. Both my husband and I weren’t too fond of the musical scenes every 5 minutes (at least it seemed like it) and found ourselves turning it down and talking in between. Besides that, I thought the movie gave a wonderful message about the environment and how small efforts count. I believe everyone should watch movies like that because it inspires people to make better choices and to really look at the big picture. For me, the message hit pretty deep considering the big food labeling fight going on in California right now.


It’s funny, (but not really) in the beginning of the movie it showed the land completely desolate of any living thing and automatically the name Monsanto popped in my head. I semi-joked with my husband and said that’s what Monsanto is doing to our planet… notice the word semi. It’s a stark reminder of what can happen. Unfortunately I believe if we continue to let huge multi-billion companies control what they think is “right” for the people and planet, we will inevitably fall in a downwards spiral until there is nothing left. No animals. No plants. No trees. No beautiful landscapes. Nothing. Just desolate and dreary… and maybe robots. Our children and their children won’t know the beauty of what once was.

I couldn’t help but relate it to what’s going on right now in the world, specifically the battle of getting our food labeled in California. It reminded me once more of why I so desperately need to do everything in my power to educate and inspire as many people as I can to make better food choices, support their local farmers, buy organic, and ultimately for the people in California to vote Yes on Prop 37.

Because like the Once-ler once said,


“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, Nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” 
 
What are you going to do to make a difference?

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

photo credit

This post is part of: Monday Mania

Leave a Reply

