In need of help to fight for what’s right

You know how sometimes there are things that are really important to you and you feel you are obligated to do something about it? Well, right now, I feel obligated to stand up for what I believe in and proactively do something to support the cause. What I’m talking about is the California Right to Know Genetically Engineered Act; the simple act of requiring companies to label their packages if the food they manufacture contains genetically modified ingredients.

Behold, the story of David (the people) and Goliath (Bio-tech, Big Food).

In 2 and a half months the people of California, including myself, will be heading to the polls to vote on a proposition that violates their fundamental rights: to know what’s in our food.

This subject really hits home for me. Not only because I believe it’s our fundamental right to know what is in our food, but because I care about the future, not only for me but especially for my son’s, and his children and their children. I can not imagine my future grandchildren not being able to enjoy the pure foods we have been so blessed to enjoy. I care about all the future generations and the health of their loved ones. I care about the well-being of our planet and it’s resources. The earth is so beautiful and supplies us with so many wonderful things it would be a shame to mistreat and misuse the earth simply because of the greed of major corporations. I care about the health of the animals that have their lives sacrificed in order to support our needs. It’s completely unnecessary to abuse these animals and feed them things they were not designed to eat.

I’m pretty sure every one of you reading this can vouche that you care about at least one of those topics, if not all of them.

Genetically modified crops are ruining the planet, people and animals one step at a time. Companies like Monsanto, DuPont Pioneer, Pepsi/Frito Lay, Smuckers, Del Monte, Coca-Cola, and Kelloggs are helping destroy the things we love and appreciate all because of greed. $25,000,000.000 is what they have already spent in efforts to lie and abuse the truth about GMOs and the advertising is about to begin full force very shortly. Now is the time to act and fight for what is right.

That is why I’m going to do something about it.

My plan: To raise awareness from now until November 6 by talking to people on the streets about GMOs. I want to set up a table at farmer’s markets and hand out flyers. I want to go to coffee shops and hand out flyers. I want to do this all around the bay area.

If you’re someone who cares about what’s in their food but do not really know facts on GMOs, that’s okay. I have flyers that I will print out and a paper with key points on GMOs.

It’s easy to talk about how you feel on a certain subject but it takes great courage to actually do something about it. I can (and will) do this alone but with support from people who also care about the health of their selves and loved ones will dramatically help raise awareness and ultimately beat the Bio-tech Goliath bullies.

Even if you don’t have the extra hour or so to spend outside talking to people, all I’m asking from you is to at least tell people in your inner circle. You can share this, along with many other information that I post on Facebook to get the word out.

I want to remind you the opposition claim it will cost the companies hundreds of dollars to change their packaging therefore costing you, the consumer more money to buy their food.  Let me also remind you those same companies are willing to spend $25 million dollars on advertisements on why we shouldn’t have labels on our foods.

So, let me get this straight Pepsi… You can spend $1,716,000.00 to keep the truth from us but you can’t spend the extra couple cents it will cost to add something to your packaging?

And Kelloggs, you can change your packaging so the Olympic Gold Medal Gymnasts are on the box and it not cost the consumer any more than they are already paying but you can spend $516,952.06 to keep the truth from us?

Does that make any sense to any normal people out there?!

If you are interested in actively helping me, please email me at lorielstarr@yahoo.com, comment here or send me a message on my Facebook.

If you are not in California and are interested in leaving flyers at coffee shops, grocery stores, restaurants, etc please email me at lorielstarr@yahoo.com and I will send you over documents to print out.

It doesn’t matter if the Bio-tech Goliath Bullies have millions of dollars on their side, we have the people and the people, no matter how small can win a battle that seems impossible.

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

This post is part of: Real Food Wednesday, Monday Mania

photo credit

2 thoughts on “In need of help to fight for what’s right

Leave a Reply

