Food snob? Just some food for thought

 
Filtering out all the misguided, misinformed, completely wrong and twisted information about food can take some time- especially when you have to sort of, re-learn what you already know about nutrition. Once the information has been filtered and researched then sourcing the right kind of foods can pose even more of a difficulty. Long distances, budget, sticker shock, multiple “no, we don’t do this” before the golden, “yes, we do that” can all be obstacles when trying to source the food to your liking and standards.

Once you get over that hurdle, hit the “Aha!” moment and really start to understand, appreciate, and cook the foods in your own home, you want to share your new found (but old) information with everyone you know and love. Maybe you know someone who is always eating low-fat foods and suffers from health issues. The first thing you want to tell them is to ditch the low-fat and eat whole fat foods because that type of fat is good for your body and helps your body absorb nutrients. Or maybe you know someone who is depressed, overweight, always tired, suffers from chronic illnesses, loaded on prescription drugs for one thing or another, etc? The first thing you want to do is tell them to change the way they eat by going back to the basics. Cut out vegetable oils, cut out refined and processed foods, eat more nutrient-dense foods. Even better, what if you know someone who just had a baby and you want to tell them everything you learned about how infant cereal causes all types of allergies or what they really should be feeding their babies for the maximum nutrition despite what their pediatrician or family has told them to do?

And what about once you tell them? Unfortunately, most people listen but forget as soon as you tell them. Some people think organic doesn’t make any difference and ignore what you say. On small occasions you get the people who argue with you because you tell them something that seems farfetched to them (“because of the medical evidence backing it”) but in reality it’s not so farfetched at all. And maybe in the mix of it all, you get people who are offended, upset, taken-aback because they feel you think you’re better than them because of how you eat.

Here poses the next big hurdle and something that I’m still learning how to deal with: How to get the information passed on to the people you love without making them feel inferior, taken back, standoff-ish, stupid and you sounding like a complete food snob.

I feel like I’ve already dealt with this in many small situations and I’m pretty sure most 95% of the time, I come off wrong. It’s especially hard to talk about food it when it involves feeding children. Parents are really protective of their children and want to feel like they are doing the best to take care of them. I personally have not mastered how to tell them how they are feeding their child is kind of wrong without making them upset or whatever other feelings may arise with that.

I do not want to make anyone feel in any kind of negative way. I just want to help and sometimes my passion takes over me and I come off wrong. I don’t want people to think I believe I’m better than them because of how I eat or they are inferior because of how they eat.

I guess from the outside looking in, one could assume that maybe I am a food snob. I’d rather not eat meat from animals that I know have been raised in factory farms because I am well aware of the unhealthy meat those animals produce (besides the fact of how inhumane they are treated- something I never want to support) and I definitely don’t want my son to eat that kind of meat. I know that conventional produce is pretty much dripping in toxins and don’t want to have my child snack on a blueberry filled with pesticides. I prefer not going out to eat because more than 95% of the time I’m positive the food isn’t to my standards (because of this it is becoming increasingly hard for me to go out). Canned items are mostly non-existent in our house. Packaged food is by far the biggest convenience food and they are filled with so many hidden GM ingredients that it’s not even worth buying anything in a box.

Although my dietary habits cut out most conventional ways and can seem complex, it’s actually quite simple. I’ve just adopted an unadulterated way of eating by buying whole, fresh foods and supporting local farmers that use sustainable methods which benefits everyone in the circle of life. I base my diet on information that has been backed by many cultures for hundreds and hundreds of years which are free of the serious health problems we face as Americans in the last 50 years. Simple. Easy. Nutrient-dense.

Through this journey I’m learning that sometimes it’s better to not say anything at all. Maybe food can be considered one of those “don’t talk at the dinner table” things like politics and religion. Maybe it’s better to pick and choose exactly who you share the valuable information with.

Food snob or not, I just want people to understand that everything you need to heal is made from Mother Earth into plant or animal and that I’m here to help anyone who wants to get rid of one more complex thing in their lives. No judging, just healing.

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

This post is part of: Real Food Wednesday

photo credit

One thought on “Food snob? Just some food for thought

Leave a Reply

