Easy Meatballs

I didn’t really feel like cooking an elaborate meal and I was actually in desperate need to go food shopping so I hunted in my freezer and saw I had 2 lbs of ground beef. So, I took the ground beef out and decided to make meatballs. I had half an onion left from the previous night and all the rest of the ingredients I had in my pantry so it was like it was meant to be! Plus, we had been having chicken a lot and I wanted to do something a little different. Lately, I’ve been trying to use everything I have (kind of like a freezer/refrigerator/pantry clean up) so I don’t spend extra money when I don’t need to.

What I loved about making these meatballs was they were quick, easy, delicious and if we had extra I could store them in the freezer for a later time. I didn’t have any tomato sauce to drizzle on them and they still were yummy!

Ingredients: (makes about 20-25 meatballs)

  • 2lbs ground beef
  • 2 eggs
  • half an onion (chopped small)
  • 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 tsp real salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 3/4 Tbsp italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. In a large bowl, beat eggs. Add onion, breadcrumbs, salt, Worcestershire sauce, italian seasoning, pepper and mix well. 
  3. Then add beef and mix very well (it’s best for the beef to be room temperature so your hands don’t get frost bitten! not fun!)
  4. Shape the meatballs into about an inch in size and place on an ungreased baking sheet.  **It’s good to make sure the meatballs are uniform in shape so they all cook at the same pace.
  5. Bake for about 10-13 minutes

If you want to freeze them the best way to do this is to “flash freeze” them. The way you do this is by taking the cooled meatballs (pan and all) and sticking them in the freezer. Once they are frozen put them into freezer ziplock bags or some other freezer container. When you flash freeze food (meatballs, fruit, etc) it helps keep the food intact without sticking to each other. This way you can take as many out as you want at a time.

When reheating the meatballs just stick them in a sauce or baking sheet (bake at around 350 for 15-20 minutes). Easy!

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

Leave a Reply

