Perfectly Moist Honey Bread

Maybe about a year and a half ago I tried honey bread for the very first time when we were staying up at a family friend’s house. She brought us some for breakfast and it was one of the most delicious things I’ve ever put in my mouth! I asked her how good it was for you and her answer was, “There’s nothing bad in it! Sweetened naturally by honey with lots of pastured eggs.”


It’s always wonderful finding something that not only tastes really good but is good for you! I made it a few days ago and will be making it when we go up to my aunt’s lakehouse so I thought I would share the recipe with you.

It is used with coconut flour which typically produces a moist, fluffy food and it is also gluten free. You could compare the consistency with that of a pound cake (yum!). It is sweet, but not too sweet and can be eaten for breakfast with your morning coffee or as a snack! There is a little hint of coconut but the flavor is not overwhelming at all. You can eat it plain or put some butter on it.

What’s even better is it really easy to make and doesn’t take long to prepare it or bake it!

When I first started baking this bread I could never get the middle to cook all the way without completely burning the sides. What I’ve learned that works well for me is at the last 5-10 minutes I drop the heat about 15 degrees and put aluminum foil over the pan so the heat stays trapped. Before I put the aluminum foil I put a fork in the middle to see how much longer it’ll take or if it needs more time. I also do this once the baking time is over.

The last batch I made turned out better than the rest but the edges are still a little burnt. I’m not sure if I can get it 100% not burnt but improvements are definitely happening with each batch and the tin foil really helps.

I was given this recipe by a friend who got it from Sarah’s blog, The Healthy Home Economist.

Here is the link to the full recipe and instructions

I hope you take the opportunity to try this recipe because I promise you will not be disappointed! One last note I want to say- to make this bread be at it’s most highest nutrient level it’s best to use pastured, organic and raw ingredients. Also, I do not use the stevia and the bread turns out just fine!

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

Leave a Reply

