The Omnivore’s Dilemma Giveaway!

About a week ago I finished reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma for the first time. It was a fantastic book and I think every person interested in real food or are already on that path should read it. Michael Pollan has the book divided into 3 sections (meals): Industrial corn (fast food meal), pastoral grass (grass-fed meal), forest (hunter-gatherer meal).


He gives you insight to how the corn industry rose, how industrial corn farmer’s are stuck because corn can never be sold for more than purchased, how corn is in everything. He talks about how the word “organic” has been changed throughout the years (what does the word organic mean to you?), he visits Joel Salatin’s Polyface Farm and learns how everything works in a beautiful symbiotic relationship (soil, sun, cow, chicken, pig), and how there should be no transparency when a farmer slaughter’s their meat. Michael Pollan then becomes a hunter-gatherer himself and goes to forests to gather wild mushrooms (this can be this omnivore’s dilemma because one is not certain whether the mushrooms are edible or fatal) and hunts for wild pig.

This last section of the book really made my brain start turning because he talked about how us humans have lost sight and connection of what it means to eat meat. Native Americans and hunter-gatherers would give thanks for the animal for giving up its life so the eater might live. In our present time, we don’t know what it means to actually kill an animal, slaughter it and prepare it for dinner because the industry has packaged our meats to where it doesn’t even look like an animal anymore. He also experiments becoming a vegetarian because of this and talks about the conflicting issue of whether it is right to eat meat or to not eat meat.

The main theme and goal of this book, in my personal opinion, is to make the reader question themselves and ask: What is in my food?

I believe everyone needs to read this book so why not pass it on to the next person?  

Which is why I am giving away my copy of The Omnivores Dilemma!

Please keep in mind I purchased my book at a used book store so the book is not in perfect condition but is totally readable (some of the pages and front cover are slightly bent). I will ship the book to whoever wins so you don’t have to worry about cost.

There are multiple ways to enter to win this giveaway but I do want to mention that I have only one rule I require-

If I see anyone who has completed an entry but not actually do what is required, you will be disqualified. For example if the entry asks you to post a comment on one of my posts and you don’t, you will not be eligible to win. I want to make this a fair game to everyone so please understand my only rule!

I will post the name of the winner in a week after the giveaway ends. If you do not respond within 3 days, I will choose another winner.

Good luck to everyone!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This post is part of: Real Food Wednesday, Monday Mania

4 thoughts on “The Omnivore’s Dilemma Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

