The end result of my arm chuck cut of meat

Yesterday I wrote about what the heck an arm chuck was when talking about the cut of meat in a cow. I wasn’t sure how I was going to cook it but I had two ideas: pound thin, season with salt and pepper, and saute or pound thin, lightly bread with flour, salt & pepper mixture and pan fry. I ended up lightly breading it.

I’m sorry I don’t have a photo to show of the meat. I completely forgot as I was starving and realized once the food was put away that I should have taken a photo of it.

The execution-
I took the pieces and laid them out on the cutting board and put some plastic wrap over it. I then pounded the beef very thin on each side. I ended up setting the pieces of pounded meat back in the fridge because I had to prepare the other sides so when I took the meat out of the fridge, I pounded it a second time.

As a side note: I also cut some of the gristle out of the meat so we didn’t bite into a piece of chewy fat. 

I then took each piece of meat and dipped it into a mixture of flour, salt and pepper.

Where I messed up was when I didn’t dip the meat into a beaten egg before I breaded it with the flour mixture. The result of not having that critical step was less breading (which I guess it’s really a bad thing) and the breading coming off when I pan fried.

How could I possibly forget to dip the meat into egg?!?!

When you dip a piece of meat into egg before pan frying it sort of acts as a binding agent. This is crucial when you are putting the meat onto the frying pan because the last thing you want is to flip the meat and all the breading comes off one on side- especially if you are not using one of those fancy non-stick pans (I was using a cast iron pan). So inevitably, the first piece of meat I flipped the breading came off. I came to the conclusion (with a little help from my husband) if I didn’t touch the meat until it was ready to be flipped there was less of a chance of the breading coming off.

The result-
When all was done, it turned out pretty tasty. Although, next time instead of adding the salt and pepper into the flour mixture, I’ll first season the meat then dip it into egg then flour. It seems like this would work way better and the flavor would be a little more prominent.

As far as the tenderness of the arm chuck? It wasn’t bad at all! I really expected it to be chewy but I see that the tenderizing played a huge part in the non-chewiness.

We also had two pieces of meat left over that I will be using to make steak sandwiches for my sister and I for lunch- not bad for a $10 piece of pastured meat!

Simply put, when you want a nutritious, inexpensive piece of steak go for the arm chuck because as long as you tenderize it, you will get a delicious piece of meat 🙂

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

photo credit

Leave a Reply

