Farmageddon: A must watch!

A couple weeks ago my husband and I were searching through Vudu to watch a movie. As we were looking I came across a movie called Farmageddon. I watched the preview and I immediately knew this was a movie I had to watch. We ended up watching War Horse as Farmageddon was not on the pick list but I persuaded Scott to watch it with me last night. I really wanted him to watch it with me so he could get a higher sense of why I am making the type of food choices I am for our family. We talk about the importance and I let him know when I read about something new but I wanted him to see it first hand.

I’m so glad we watched it! Farmageddon is a movie about the wars that small sustainable farmers have to deal with. They interview a few family farms that were raided by the FDA, had their livestock killed by the FDA (because of a disease that didn’t exist) and had thousands of dollars of sustainable organic food confiscated (including many jugs of raw milk poured out). It’s quite an eye opener for those of you who aren’t familiar with what type of things are going on in our food industry. It’s amazing to me that the FDA is spending millions of dollars confiscating and raiding these small farms that produce nothing but safe, nutrient-dense food. There is no support to local small farmers by the FDA. Instead they are supporting these large factory farms that are doing nothing but hurting the animals, the environment and the people that are consuming these animals.

Please take a moment to watch this trailer.

Awareness is the key. Most people have no idea what these small farms have to go through. Shouldn’t we have the freedom to eat what we want to eat? If someone wants to eat food that is robbing them of their health so be it but if someone actually cares and wants to eat wholesome foods, they should most definitely have the right to do so. Isn’t America supposed to be the land of the free?

The only way we can make a change is by consumer demand. The more we support our local farmers and purchase less of the factory farmed animals, the greater of a chance we have at winning this battle.

Please do yourself a favor, buy the movie and watch it. It’ll give you more motivation to make the right food choices and it will bring you to a new level of awareness.

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul

Leave a Reply

