A magic way to revitalize your hair

Before I got pregnant with Andrew, my hair and skin was always so moisturized and luscious- despite being in chlorinated pool water and salty ocean water practically 24/7. I never had a flick of any kind of dandruff…ever. Once Andrew was brought into this world, my whole body did a 360 turn. No longer did I have moisturized, shiny hair and skin… I had dull, dried out, flaky hair. It seemed like nothing I did made a difference. I tried head and shoulders shampoo, moisturizers, shampoos and conditioners labeled “for dry hair.” Absolutely not one of these even made a dent in my hair.

I decided I needed to seek help from “outside the box.” I asked Jessica what I could do because I was tired of seeing dandruff in my hair- it made me feel gross. She simply said- Coconut oil. Hmm, that is not available in the hair section of any beauty stores but I decided to give it a try. I looked it up online and found that that virgin coconut oil actually penetrates the hair shaft and replenishes it. Most shampoos strip your hair of the natural oils so that’s why we have to use a conditioner to make sure our hair isn’t brittle and dry. And of course, most conditioners unfortunately don’t replenish your hair with the natural oils- they sort of coat your hair with a shine, making an illusion of shiny hair. So, I decided to go to my local health food store and buy myself some Virgin Coconut Oil.


It’s important to use unrefined virgin coconut oil instead of refined coconut oil because the chemical properties are different. Unrefined virgin coconut oil is in it’s most natural form and is higher in vitamins, minerals, protein, antioxidants, and medium chain fatty acids. All of these aid is re-nourishing not only your hair but your skin and health too.

Actually, I did a coconut oil treatment yesterday morning because it definitely was in need of some serious moisturizing. It’s very simple to do and costs way less than going to the salon and getting a deep conditioning (probably containing toxic ingredients). Plus, with coconut oil you know it actually works and you’re getting the most for your money.

What you’ll need:
– 2 tablespoons of virgin coconut oil (this is good for shoulder length hair, I use 3 since my hair is a little longer and super thick)
– 1 small bowl to put coconut oil in
– 1 bowl for the small bowl to fit in
– a small towel to wrap around your head
– a shower cap (I haven’t used this because I don’t have one but it really works in keeping the heat in and for maximum absorption)
– spoon

Directions:

  1. Scoop 2 tablespoons of virgin coconut oil into smallest bowl
  2. Heat water and put the small bowl into it to liquify coconut oil (make sure water doesn’t overflow into little bowl) *If your coconut oil is already liquified, skip this step
  3. Use a mister to damp your hair (if you don’t have a mister, run wet fingers through hair until damp)
  4. Part your hair and use a spoon to drizzle coconut oil onto scalp. Rub to make sure it is soaking in. This works best if you work in sections from one side of your hair to the other. If the spoon seems restricting, you can take your fingers and dab them into the coconut oil and put on hair.
  5. Once your scalp is complete, put some coconut oil in your hands and run through the rest of your hair making sure to cover all of your hair (your hair will look moist and oily)
  6. Massage your scalp to promote blood circulation. Some people find if they massage their hair, they start to shed. If this is a problem skip this step. Over time, if the scalp gets stronger the shedding happens less.
  7. Take a towel and soak it in hot water. Ring all the water out and wrap hair in it
  8. Let this sit for about an hour. Once the towel gets cool, replace it with a shower cap or cling wrap
  9. Wash out using whatever method you want. I usually shampoo it out (sometimes it takes 2 shampoos) and then condition it.

Choosing a shampoo and conditioner with the least amount of harmful chemicals will maximize the affects of the coconut oil hair treatment. Click here for a list of harmful ingredients

I went to Whole Foods a few weeks ago and was talking to employee in the personal care aisle about which shampoo and conditioner would be the safest. He directed me to a brand called Griffin. They are manufactured in San Francisco and the ingredient list is amazing! Although it is on the pricey side (per ounce) it was definitely worth it. My shower experience was different because the shampoo didn’t sud up as much as the Pantene ProV I was using and the conditioner wasn’t as good with getting knots out of my hair but all in all I was happy with the product. It’s good feeling knowing I’m putting real, all natural ingredients on my body.

You will notice an immediate change in your hair, I guarantee it! It will feel fuller and healthier. Plus you’ll have the comfort in knowing you are putting one less toxic thing in your body.

If you have any questions regarding instructions, please leave a comment.

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul 

 

photo credit

Leave a Reply

