"You know, you should really write a blog."

Well, here I am, writing my first blog entry. I was at lunch with a dear friend who I haven’t seen in almost 4 years and as we were chit, chatting about health and nutrition, she told me I should start a blog. Lindsay was the third person who told me I should and realized I might as well take this as a sign!

My whole purpose of this blog is to help people… like you! Help you in your journey of good health so you can live a longer, happier life.

Every one wants to live a happy, healthy life, right?

If you’re like me, you grew up in a world that is controlled by the media. What they say is healthy, you believe. You believe it because they are supposed to be the people who are paid to research, study and conclude what is beneficial to our health and what’s not.

Unfortunately (as I’m learning) it seems that is not the case. Most of what we know to be healthy in the “mainstream” world is full of twisted lies and left out truths. For example, every where we turn we see labels on foods that say 100% Whole Grains, our nutritionists and food pyramid tells us to “eat more whole grains!”

So that’s what we strive for as Americans… to get more whole grains into our diets. So what do we do? We buy processed foods filled with GMO’s (Genetically Modified Organisms), unnatural, denatured foods that are made with more whole grains in them thinking that we are doing ourselves justice.

Whole grains are important but not through the form of quick-rise breads, granolas, bran preparations and other hastily prepared casseroles and concoctions. You see, whole grains need to be prepared carefully (through soaking and sprouting) so they can be digested properly in our stomachs. This is an excerpt from the Weston A. Price Foundation’s website:

“Grains require careful preparation because they contain a number of antinutrients that can cause serious health problems. Phytic acid, for example, is an organic acid in which phosphorus is bound. It is mostly found in the bran or outer hull of seeds. Untreated phytic acid can combine with calcium, magnesium, copper, iron and especially zinc in the intestinal tract and block their absorption. This is why a diet high in improperly prepared whole grains may lead to serious mineral deficiencies and bone loss. The modern misguided practice of consuming large amounts of unprocessed bran often improves colon transit time at first but may lead to irritable bowel syndrome and, in the long term, many other adverse effects.” — http://www.westonaprice.org

The whole grains we eat are milled at high temperatures; extruded to make crunchy breakfast cereals; and consumed without careful preparation. Definitely NOT the way we should be eating them!

I hadn’t intended on going on a full rant about whole grains but it seems it’s probably best!  Any way, I am still learning about what I should be feeding myself and my loved ones and I want you to join me on this journey! Together we can have a better understanding of what is right for our bodies and what is better for our environment.

Re-learning what is healthy can be very time consuming and overwhelming if we do it on our own. That’s why I am here along with other bloggers and non-bloggers so we can help each other come to a better understanding of all this.

I will be filling this blog with recipes, thoughts, information and my own experiences. If there is a topic you want to know more about, let me know!

Thank you to Lindsay for being that last inspiring push to create a blog
 Also, thank you to Jessica, who has answered all of my million +1 questions about eating healthy. Without you, this process would have taken much longer to get where I am today.

2 thoughts on “"You know, you should really write a blog."

Leave a Reply

