Recipe: Cuban Picadillo

Yay for the first recipe of this blog!! I made this recipe the other night and it was out-of-this-world! It was sooo delicious, very easy to make and didn’t require a ton of prepping. As I’m realizing in this world of REAL food, in order to eat well, you actually have to spend time in the kitchen. So when I come across a recipe (from Tessa the Domestic Diva) I HAD to try it. I modified it a little bit to our taste but the inspiration came from Tessa the Domestic Diva

My husband Scott and I were definitely NOT disappointed. The best part is you can freeze half so you can have a quick easy meal later on!

Always try and use all organic ingredients.
***I personally would spend the extra money on the grass-fed, antibiotic/hormone-free beef. The health benefits outweigh the use of organic veggies.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound (about) ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper (I used a sweet red one), chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 6oz can tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup water
  • OPTIONAL: 1-2 cups soaked black beans (or 1 can), diced avocado, chopped cilantro, sauteed plantains in lard

I used black beans that I had soaked for 24 hours in some water with 2 TBL apple cider vinegar (BRAGGS kind). You can also use 2 TBL lemon juice.

 *The reason I soaked my beans was to make them more digestible. You know that old saying, “Beans, beans, the magical fruit, the more you eat the more you toot?” Yeah, well with soaking your beans you can say bye-bye to that saying because you will not have any kind of discomfort!
Directions:
  1. Chop your onion, bell pepper and mince your garlic
  2. Put the ground beef, chopped onion, bell pepper and minced garlic in a large pan on medium heat
  3. Just before the beef is completely cooked, add all of the remaining ingredients (If you are going to use beans, add them now)
  4. Bring to a low simmer and cover
  5. Cook for about 20 minutes to let all of the flavors mesh into one another
  6. Serve your picadillo on top of rice and you can add the cilantro and avocado as a garnish (I didn’t have either items and it still turned out perfect!).
If you try this recipe, post a comment and let me know how it turned out! 🙂

Until next time,
Loriel – Healthy Roots, Happy Soul  

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Cuban Picadillo

Leave a Reply

